Drowning Interview

DROWNING NO. 1

Drowning have been highlighted before on MAR in Jack Boaden’s ‘Chicago Hardcore – None Heavier’ article that he published a month ago – inspired to pursue the source of the growing popularity surrounding the bands in the article; I was granted the opportunity to interview the frontman of Drowning. Bryan is a top guy and it’s sweet to have a chance to gain perspective like this. I asked him a series of questions about his music as well as his hometown.

Thank you very much for your time. Would you mind introducing yourself and the band?

My name is Bryan and I do vocals. Our guitarist’s name is Mike Robz. Our bassist’s name is Brandon Tillet and our drummer’s name is Eduardo Flores.

Drowning has appeared to have received a lot of attention as of late, what would you put this down to personally?

I really don’t know what to say about that one. We have just been trying to travel as much as we can to get the word out. We could thank a lot of our friends for spreading the band name by word of mouth as well. It always helps when you have a supportive foundation!

Absolutely! What would you say inspires the band when you’re writing songs?

It all depends what is going on at the moment in our lives. Personally when I write I can’t enter a fantasy land where I can fake a topic or pretend im in somebody else’s shoes. Everything I write I was once feeling at a moment whether it be happy or sad. As for the music it’s just the band itself and each other. We are a very close group of friends and enjoy playing music. I could jam with these guys for days and not get sick of it.

What’s your opinion on the Chicago hardcore scene? What do you think of it?

We have a awesome Chicago scene. There are some really cool bands from our area that really work hard. It’s cool to go other places and have people say they like Chicago music in general. I love our city and everything about it. Some good bands to check out from the area would be Side Split/No Zodiac/Warhound/Bitter Thoughts/No Regrets/The Killer/Harms Way/Weekend Nachos/The Examples/Ruthless/Valiant/The Ox King/Delta/Valiant…
There’s way too many to name!

Weekend Nachos are my favourite band! No Zodiac, Harm’s Way & Warhound are also in my collection.
So, what’s the best show you’ve ever played and why?

My favourite show was our tour kickoff show in February. It was in our friend Mao’s basement. I say it was the best because it was just a whole bunch of our friends hanging out, having a good time and watching some awesome bands.

DROWNING NO. 2Where would you like to play in the future?

There really is no limit for us. One of my inspirations for life is seeing this world. Being in a new place every night with four of your best friends is an incredible feeling. It’s an even better high when you’re playing the music you love. Personally it makes me embrace life. You appreciate every second because the next day you won’t be in the same location.

That’s an absolutely fantastic message,  I totally see where you’re coming from.
What’s your dream lineup for a show (Either to play or to see)?

My dream lineup would be Dio/Slipknot/Hatebreed/Juicy J/Mest/The Starting Line/Drowning
I’m sure the other guys wouldn’t agree on some of these but these are my top favorite bands/artist of all time. If I got to play with any of them I would be excited.

What inspires you to write your lyrics? The lyrics on ‘Prey For Me’ are some next level stuff!

It’s just whatever I’m feeling at the moment. I try not to write if I am not feeling passionate about something. Whatever I’m feeling, I embrace. Nothing eases the mind like pen to paper.

Definitely. What do you enjoy the most about the genre of music that you play?

My favourite part of the genre is the live aspect. It’s raw, aggressive, violent and just fun to play and watch.

I understand that for sure.
Finally, what does Drowning have in store for the future?

August 8-14th we will be hitting the East coast with our friends in Valiant and Ruthless. August 18th to September 3rd we will be on tour with Domination and Ecophagy. The only other set in stone plans is to finish our full length and to get that out.

We are all certainly excited to hear your full length here in the UK, thank you very much again for your time!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Drowningchicago
Bandcamp: http://drowningchicago.bandcamp.com/
Drowning ‘Judgement’ Music Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2SD2YNL2qY

Leave a Reply

